Oh Me, Oh My…

So, I’m ashamed to admit that I watch American Idol. Now, you must give me a break when I say that this is the first season I have ever watched. I refused before on principle alone. I mean, come on. All I remember from the beginnings of American Idol were the horrible singers who thought they were good and Simon ripping them to pieces.

Now that I’ve admitted my sins, I must say that I have enjoyed watching it this season. The reason I started watching you may ask? I discovered that David Cook was on, and I happened to “know” him during my freshman year of college at Truman State. He dated my best friend during high school and they dated awhile during our freshman year, too. I distinctly remember that he would not sing in front of all of us, just my friend. Which now I find funny, since, come on…he’s singing on national television. Now, I won’t say I still don’t judge him when he sings, I wasn’t particularly amazed by his performance tonight, but I do believe he’s a pretty darn amazing singer. I guess the reason I sat down to write about American Idol (among other things) tonight is because of the horrid performance of Jason Castro. I haven’t enjoyed his style since the beginning and I feel as if other singers who were better could’ve still been on, instead of him. Another thing that makes me sick on American Idol? The crazy teeny-bopper fans. They’re nuts. They cheer their heads off, it’s distracting. I can’t imagine being David Archuleta up there on that stage with all those girls drooling over him. Seriously girls, gimme a break.

Exciting news (at least to me)! I went to my first Weight Watchers meeting yesterday. I’m going to do this. If there’s one thing I have, it’s discipline. And I’m determined to make this happen. What I really like is that at the beginning they don’t even want you to set an ultimate weight loss goal. They just automatically set one for you at 10% of your body weight. And hey, when I make it there, I know I’ll be motivated to reach my goal. Right now I’m munching on carrots because I’m starving (and holding dinner off) and I realized carrots are 0 points. I’ll be eating a lot of those I feel. Broccoli, too! One thing they’re very strict on though is that you actually eat all the points you’re supposed to, which is good.

Last night after the meeting I went to Aldi and got some great deals (besides the carrots). Strawberries for $0.99, Fuji apples for $0.25/lb! I also had this really awesome Fit ‘n Active southwestern veggie burrito deal for lunch that was yummy! I need to, and I will, keep on this. After a year forcing myself to the gym every week, this is definitely something I can accomplish. šŸ™‚

Currently reading: The Lord of the Rings – The Fellowship of the Rings (that’s the first one, right? Cause that’s what I’m reading)

About keepingupwithkate

reader, runner, teacher, wannabe crafter
This entry was posted in american idol, weight watchers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

