Darn you snow days…

Okay, okay…I love snow days.  But not when they add more days to the end of the school year.  I also love summer.  A LOT.  That ends my whining on getting the day off due to inclement weather (my family especially hates it when I complain about not having to work all summer).  🙂  Shh…sometimes I mention it just to bug them!

I’ve been putting off blogging until I could update my header to my satisfaction.  For not knowing a whole lot about technology I’m pretty okay with how it turned out.  Thoughts?

In other school related news?  I’ve introduced my students to a new reading “requirement” – I prefer to call them goals.  Requirements has such a negative tone to it, doesn’t it?  Anyway, I read The Book Whisperer over Christmas break and then shortly after read Readicide.  They’re both fantastic books about how schools are currently hurting students with the way they approach reading.  I’m hoping to change that a bit.  It’s only day two of my program – but so far I’m extremely excited!

I’m requiring my students to read 15 books this semester (or rather, their goal is to read 15 books).  They’ll get time every day in class (minimum of 15 minutes) to read books of their choice.  For the details (if you’re interested), click here.  I really really hope the kids find some awesome books and really learn to love reading.  For so many of them they’ve learned to hate it because they’re either assigned everything to read or they’re never given time to really “get into” the book before they’re expected to go home and finish it.

Oh, and the best part?  (This might make me seem selfish…) I get to read every day at school!

Well, as you can see, my baby, also known as the adorable Zoey, would like to use the computer.

"Mom! It's my turn to use the computer...."

About keepingupwithkate

reader, runner, teacher, wannabe crafter
This entry was posted in school and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

