Kids these days.

I have the tendency to say things I think I’ll regret when I have kiddos, but I really hope this isn’t one of them.  I had an awesome childhood.  Awesome.  My parents were great.  They treated us equally, spent lots of time with us, taught us good values/morals.  We spent a lot of time with our extended family.  We (my brothers and I) were good kids.  Yeah, we might’ve been mouthy (okay, that was me), we might have had a lot of energy (okay…that was my little brother), or we might have been total nerds (all of us), but we were good.  We didn’t try to do things that we knew we’d get in trouble for.

Why am I talking about this?  As a teacher I see kids all the time.  Mostly high school students, but middle schoolers too this time of year when I’m coaching the youngins.  One thing I just don’t understand?  Why kids these days seem to be making risky choices at younger and younger ages.  Why do all kids need cell phones?  Why do they all need jobs while in high school?  Why are they wearing such provocative clothing?  Why are they experimenting so much (drugs, sex, etc.)?  I just don’t get it!  You have your whole life to make mistakes – live every bit of your childhood!  You’ll never get it back!  Sorry – drama at work with some poor choices made by students really makes me wonder.

Okay…moving on.

WW…

Yay scale!  Don’t really know what happened here, but I’ll take it.  When I say I don’t really know what happened what I mean is – I didn’t change anything drastically.  Same ‘ol, same ‘ol.  This week’s weigh-in puts me 3.2 pounds away from my WW goal.  I might change my goal to an additional 3 pounds off of that.  If I get there – and maintain – and get lifetime – woah buddy!

Weekly loss: -2.4

Total loss since re-joining:-8.8

Total loss (since originally joining WW): -37.4

Running…

I successfully ran 10 miles last weekend without stopping (well, except once to wait on cars driving down the road).  I still can’t quite believe it.  I’m planning on running 10 again this weekend, 11 next weekend, and doing a half marathon on March 26th.  It’s a flat course, so I’m hoping to meet my goal.  Still haven’t signed up yet…I think I’m procrastinating, because if I actually sign up – that means I have to run.  Force me.  Seriously.

Blogging…

Yes, I’m guilty of being a bad blogger.  Life gets in the way sometimes.  Especially this time of year – volleyball season, prom season (I’m the chair of the Prom committee…woohoo), running, working.  Ya know.  Excuses.  I do have a fun post planned for this weekend about a yummy recipe from Hungry Girl – so stop by and check it out!

About keepingupwithkate

reader, runner, teacher, wannabe crafter
This entry was posted in bad blogging, busy, drama, fitness, life, running, students, teaching, volleyball, weight loss, weight watchers, ww and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kids these days.

  1. danielle hilson says:

    I didn’t know you liked hungry girl! I almost got you a cookbook for Christmas!!

  2. bareitall says:

    Isn’t it interesting learning about “parenting” from the stand point of being a teacher? I hope I’ll be able to put to use what I’ve seen over the years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

