Recipe: Lowfat Vanilla Frozen Yogurt

Mmmmm…summertime.  Summertime means popcicles, fireworks, float trips, and ice cream.  I’m right, right?  Well, I thought I’d try a little something different in my new ice cream maker, so when Skinnytaste posted this recipe for Lowfat Vanilla Bean Frozen Yogurt I was ALL over it!

I did change it a bit, since I couldn’t find fat-free greek yogurt in larger than a 2 cup size.  So I basically just switched and used 2 cups of plain yogurt and 2 cups of greek yogurt.  It was rather yogurty too, if that’s a word.  Not like the froyo you get at your local frozen yogurt place.  But, it was delicious.  I might even have some tomorrow morning with fruit for breakfast.  Indulgent?  Why, yes…thank you very much.  I ran tonight (albeit less than 2 miles, but I did it), so it’s okay, right?

Points + Value: 3 per 1/2 cup serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c. plain whole-milk yogurt
  • 2 1/2 c. plain fat-free greek yogurt
  • 1 vanilla bean (I used vanilla extract)
  • 1/2 sugar
  • 3 Tbsp. honey
  • fresh fruit to top
  1. Combine all ingredients together (whisk).  If using a vanilla bean combine it and the sugar in a blender until fine, then combine with the rest of the ingredients.
  2. Pour into your ice cream maker.
  3. Freeze according to manufacturers instructions.
  4. ENJOY! 🙂

Frozen yogurt (at the top), blueberry dump cake, and blackberry pie - the ice cream's hiding in the sink...

We had a dinner last night for my Mom’s birthday and the desserts were DE-licious!  Homemade vanilla ice cream (made by yours truly), homemade frozen yogurt (guess who made that?), homemade dump cake (I know that sounds gross but it’s one of my favorite recipes…hmm…maybe I should share that recipe with you tomorrow!!), and some blackberry pie that was made by…well, someone.  BBQ, homemade desserts, lotsa people, a couple hands of Nerts, good times were had by all.

 

About keepingupwithkate

reader, runner, teacher, wannabe crafter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

