The coolest present I’ve ever made.

So there have been a lot of things keeping me busy these days, but what I’m going to talk about today are the sewing ones.

Yay for sewing!

It’s been awhile since I’ve used my handy sewing machine, but this month I was able to make not one, but THREE things. Simply amazing.

First, I made a birthday banner for my little guy. I got it from this book. I’ve made a couple things from it and I must say – it’s an awesome resource when I want to make something quick and without making a trip to the store for materials.

bdaybanner

There is a “y” at the end there – just couldn’t get a good angle. 🙂

Then I made two projects from patterns purchased online. I had never done that before, and I must say, they were both successful.

The first one was so simple I’m sure I could’ve figured out a way to do it without a pattern – but I wanted to make sure it was something I’d be able to wear. A jersey-knit maxi skirt. Yay.

Apparently I shrunk in height...

Apparently I shrunk in height…

The coolest present I’ve ever made, though? This one takes the freakin cake.

Background: My niece is lucky enough to be growing up on a farm, a farm my brother and his wife just moved to. They’re raising pigs, chickens, and who knows what else. My folks are also raising beef there. So, Ada will be is a farm girl.

Browsing Pinterest for stuffed animal options (after looking through the book above) I found one I just had to make.  This woman at ikatbag is simply amazing.

It took me five nights after Henry went to sleep (and a couple days while he was awake) to do all.the.cutting of various pig parts, but dang if it wasn’t worth it.  I almost didn’t want to give it to her.  The whole time I was making it I kept saying, “Her parents will love this!”  I didn’t figure a one year old child would care too much about any specific present.  But dang if that girl didn’t love those piglets.

Without further adieu, meet….the pigs!

ada pig

Notice the piglets she’s playing with…

ada pig 2

I know you’re supposed to look at the pig – but dang if this little girl isn’t the cutest!

So, that’s my crafty story.  I’m VERY happy I got the chance to do some crafting – here’s to hoping I get to do some more very soon!

About keepingupwithkate

reader, runner, teacher, wannabe crafter
Image | This entry was posted in cute baby presents, sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

